One day, two shoots

(I wrote that 5 months ago and have left it unfinished since… It’s about time!)

On the same day I shot Adele’s baptism, I shot my friends’ band rehearsal. The band is called Enfant Psychord, and they really sound good. It had been a while since I made my last « music pictures », and it seemed kind of challenging at first. Not that I forgot how to do it, but I always try to do things differently from what I’ve already done – as any photographer I guess, it seems to be necessary in order to stay passionate, and not to grow completely mad… So, doing things in a different way appeared quite challenging there. Four guys, one room, okay it’s beginning to sound like a bad joke… I mean, that was no concert, they didn’t move as much as they would have on stage, the light was always the same, etc. The good thing was that I could actually move a lot more, and be very close to them. A good way to find new angles. And the light, in fact, was great. The big window was a delight. One Big source of light on the side, and with bright walls, I didn’t even have to think about it.

So, I had a great time photographing those guys, let’s hope the pictures are up to it.

Voilà voilà… J’ai fait ces photos il y 5 mois, et j’ai commencé à écrire cet article au même moment. Je pense qu’on peut dire que j’ai du retard! Et pas mal de choses à rattraper, alors autant commencer par là.

Donc il s’agit de photos de répétition d’un groupe d’amis, appelé « Enfant Psychord ». Ca faisait un moment que je n’avais pas fait de photos de musique, et j’étais vraiment très motivé par cette opportunité, même si j’appréhendais un peu les circonstances. Photographier une répétition n’est pas toujours évident, il y a « moins d’action » qu’en concert, et l’environnement et la lumière manquent souvent d’intérêt. A ce niveau là j’ai eu beaucoup de chance. La lumière était la meilleure dont je puisse rêver, à mon goût, une très grande porte-fenêtre qui inondait l’appartement d’une lumière à la fois douce et parfaitement orientée.

Au final j’ai vraiment passé un excellent moment en les photographiant, les gars étaient géniaux, évidemment, et leur musique aussi. Et on a fini la journée en se faisant tous massacrer par Yann (The Bass Guy) à Street Fighter… Super journée!

Laisser un commentaire